Tags

, , ,

I’ve been searching the world for new music all week long, things to add to my iPod for Working up a Black Sweat, for Sittin’ Up in my Room, for  dancing around my apartment in my T-Shirt and Panties, for Dancing in the Streets, (ooh, that’s a good one, let me write that down), for getting Good Love (don’t I wish?), and for when I Just Came Here to Chill. I have been discovering old school, new school, using old music for new purposes…I am really delving deep into the music and coming up with some elusiveness.

I love music. I love the way I’m able to find just what I wanted to say in the lyrics. I love the way it can make me feel happy, sad, in a sexy mood, in a party mood, all with a beat, a moaning sax, a jazz scat, a sultry riff, or–let me get that 808, that 808! I love the way that I always have to music, when friends won’t answer their phones or their email, when family acts funny, when Mr. P. is M.I.A. or on my last nerve, music is there and it hits all the right notes.

Music is the lifeblood of my day. I listen to music nearly all day everyday at work. I listen to music when I’m sweating in the gym or out in the setting sun. It seems I’m always listening. I listen to The Fray and Train. I listen to Mary J. Blige and Whitney Houston. I listen to Evelyn Champagne King, Rose Royce, Regina Belle, Gerald Levert, New Edition, the Gap Band, Zapp & Roger, Stacie Orrico, Sara Bareilles, Noel Gourdin, Van Hunt, Maxwell, Michael Bublé, Aerosmith, Brad Paisley, Carrie Underwood, Martina McBride, Faith Hill, Faith Evans, Kool Moe Dee, Heavy D, LL Cool J, Trina Broussard, Anita Baker, T.I., Young Jeezy, Usher, Trey Songz, Lupe Fiasco, Talib Kweli….and I dance, smile, sing, snap my fingers, stomp my feet, cha cha, giggle, dissect lyrics, search for the meaning of life, and slip through the sounds to the soul of another human being.

When did you fall in love with music? What do you listen to? When do you listen? Why do you listen? Let’s meditate on the joys and disappointments of music. And bob our heads to the beat.

2blu2btru