I don’t necessarily agree with this in its entirety; I believe that when you are making a speech at a church at a prayer service, speaking “the Christian Insider Language” isn’t controversial, nor does it need to be couched and prefaced with rhetoric that make people comfortable. If he wasn’t a governor, we wouldn’t be talking about it (and am I the only person who remembers Mike Huckabee being very “Christian” on the campaign trail?). However, it is something to ponder and think about, and everyone should feel free to comment on the appropriateness or whatever of the speech here, no matter your religious beliefs. I really would like to read/hear the whole address before I make any judgements on this excerpt, of course, but most of the people commenting now haven’t heard all of it either (the same thing happened with the NAACP controversy last year, as I recall), so here it is. I reserve my opinion until I hear the whole thing.

XOXO
2blu2btru

Pssst!  They Can Hear Us Last Monday, Robert Bentley was inaugurated as governor of Alabama.  You will recall that last Monday was also the national holiday celebrating the life and legacy of Martin Luther King, Jr.  So, following the inauguration, the new governor was the featured speaker at the annual MLK Day prayer service, held at the Dexter Avenue Baptist Church in Birmingham, where King once served as pastor. Gov. Bentley’s speech to the large crowd stayed true to … Read More

via Ponder Anew

