Tags

, , , , , , , ,

The other day someone I follow on twitter was “twittering” the trending topic #resetyourself. The basic gist of this TT seemed to be to name activities or mindsets that someone should give up, something someone needed to change their perspective on, or something they might want to do/think over.

When the year started, I had all of these lofty goals, all of these wonderful things that I wanted to achieve. Sometime after my birthday, I lost my enthusiasm for most of these things. Some I hadn’t gotten to. Some I gave up on altogether. I’ve inspired some people to start striving for their own goals, or at least encouraged them along with them, but I feel like I’m falling victim to what Paul pointed out as a possible problem for preachers/evangelists/elders/deacons/etc. : I’ve led people to gain something that I myself have lost. In my case, I’ve motivated the receptionist to begin exercising again and I’ve been slacking off. I’ve motivated many people to at least try a form of Yoga, whether for relaxation or fitness. I’ve encouraged people to start writing again and get over writer’s block, when I myself haven’t written anything but blogs and journals and ideas for months. It’s ridiculous. It’s not that I don’t practice what I preach, but it’s that I’ve lost a lot of my original interest and motivation somehow.

It’s time to reset myself. I went to the gym today and upped my Cybex stairstepper/elliptical thingie to 45 minutes instead of 30. That’s right, I jumped 15 minutes and didn’t die. I sweated though!

The Revolution will not be televised...

There are a lot of other things I need to do to get my fitness back on track, but this is a good start. I also want to start doing other things again, like writing a blog entry everyday and submit writings and get my financial and spiritual houses in order. There are some big decisions that I will have to make soon. Right now, I’m celebrating a small victory and starting over.

Random Thought of the Day: Are you a gain it or lose it type of person? In school, there are two major types of teachers, ones where you gain an A and ones where you lose an A. A gain an A teacher was the teacher that started everyone with zero and you had to work your way to an A. A lose an A teacher was the teacher who would start everyone out with an A and all you had to do was keep it. Which system works better for you? Most people seemed excited about the lose an A teacher’s approach, but not many people kept their A; in fact, I would venture to say more people got A’s in the class where they had to earn one than in the class where they only had to keep one. Why is this? Are we conditioned to take for granted what’s easily handed to us? As someone who hasn’t been handed a whole lot in life and has had to create many of my own opportunities, I appreciated the lose an A approach, but it wasn’t necessary. I still positioned myself as if I had to earn an A.