Tags

, , , ,

Every now and then my Netflix queue goes bonkers (or I distractedly change the order of the wrong movie(s) while doing something else) and sends me the wrong movies. Or maybe I just forget how badly I wanted to see something. Or forget I put it in my queue at all.

This weekend, I opened my mailbox to Good Luck Chuck and Crank 1 & 2. I wasn’t all that excited about my choices, and could swear I had something else in front of them, but oh well.

Ironically, I got a Monday Meditation out of Good Luck Chuck that’s a pretty good one. If you’ve never seen GLC, it’s about a guy named Charles (or Chuck) who works as a good luck charm for women: after they sleep with him, the next guy they date they marry. Love rains all around him but he can never have it, or something.His would be womanizer friend convinces him that he can provide a valuable service to women this way. After a while, though, he tires of this and asks his friend “What is sex without love?” He starts to want more.

I can’t relate to his specific question, but I can relate to the sentiment. There are times when you think you have the perfect setup or the greatest thing going, when it all suddenly loses it’s luster. The thing itsself hasn’t changed at all It’s just not the same. There isn’t that same eagerness or excitement.

This happens a lot with relationships. Your friend was always sketchy, but getting “the hookup” on bootleg (pirated) CDs amd music, or clothes or whatever worked for you. Now you have a job or a family and don’t really want to be associated. You had a man (or woman) who was never really about anything but you liked that they were dangerous, wild, sexy or thought they were great at sex or they were gorgeous. After a while they are still fine sexy wild and freaky, but you’re getting older and/or more mature and you want more than that. It just doesn’t satisfy as it used to.

Mr. Perfect told me when we were first getting to know each other that he gets bored easily and hadn’t had any long term relationships. He has a list of things he’s looking for and if you don’t line up he doesn’t have a lot of time for you. I guess it saves a lot of the disillusionment to search out everything thoroughly from the beginning, to always be on guard and on the lookout for imperfections you can’t live with, but what about giving things a chance to grow, of giving it the benefit of the doubt until it proves you wrong?

And;
How do you know when you truly want something else, and when you’re just bored? There are things that feel empty for a while, or pointless and a waste of time that you just need a break from before you appreciate its value. Sometomes you have to take a step back to see the big picture– or step up and say “this isn’t working for me.”

Mr. Perfct and I are still together 2 years 4 months later. There is something about him at his core that makes him still exciting, fresh to me. How do you keep it that way long term? This is only for when it’s really something you shou

