Tags

, , , , ,

2010-08-15

Image by Giåm via Flickr

There’s probably something gross in my lemonade. I sent the other one back because it was flavored water. I waited until 12:30 to order and I was mad, since I have to be back at work at 1, and vocal. So there’s probably something gross in my lemonade. But I have bigger concerns.

My vocabulary is shrinking down to one word: moving. I am, of course, not quite ready  to move. I still need to pack…and clean…and change my address a million more times. the major things to do, aside from packing and cleaning, are done: turning on and off the utilities, getting the money order for move in, getting boxes, asking for help moving, throwing things away, having my mail forwarded. I woke up early this morning and hung clothes on hangers until it was time to shower and get ready for work. I felt accomplished. Here’s hoping the move goes well.

I’ve had a pretty good response to my new blog, Copywrite1985. People are willing to discuss writing and books with me. I’m excited to see where this may be going. If you haven’t had a chance to pop by already, go on over and check it out.

This Sunday I was asked “the question” at least four times. You know the question: when are you two going to get married? You two are working on getting married aren’t you? Someone asked the couple I mentioned how they were getting home from church, and the husband responded “her husband” head nod to me “is going to take us home.” I looked behind me as if expecting to see this new husband I’d acquired. Nope, still not there.

“The Question” is irritating now. I didn’t wake up this morning and go about my day without remembering I wasn’t married. Every time I open my mailbox or pump my own gas or take out the trash, I’m reminded of just how single I am. I didn’t forget to get married; it’s not something I need a reminder to go ahead and get to, people!

At least it wasn’t the are you pregnant question. How, do you suppose, I could possibly be pregnant without being sexually active? In what realm is this possible? The only one I can think of is assumption. So to get us all on the same page, I’m not pregnant, I’m not engaged, I’m not married, I’m not cohabitating…and I’m fine with that at the moment. I see no need to rush into being married or pregnant, especially to someone whose mind isn’t made up on either subject.

Whenever we’re ready, we will be engaged, if we ever are. Until then, I don’t need any friendly reminders or people cornering him and getting him all worked up. I’m the one who has to sit through lectures on his level of marriage preparedness every time you well meaning people browbeat him about it. I already had to put the marriage kits on hold because people were missing the whole point and it only increased the questioning. See what happens when you try to do something nice for the community? Do you see?

I’m encouraging everyone to do things at their own pace in their relationships. Seek advice when you want to and need to, but move at your own pace and make your own decisions as a couple. As I am fond of saying, “nothing forced, nothing false.” You are the one who has to live with the decisions you make. Not your friends or your parents or whoever. When you’re ready, you’re ready. That doesn’t mean it will be as you planned or like you wanted, but it will be your decision to crow over or regret.

Anyway, Happy Thanksgiving everyone! 😀 Eat lots of turkey, doze in front of football, and shop at 3 am on a cold November morning for me. Seriously. I’m accepting housewarming gifts. 😀