Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

This Freestyle Friday, unfortunately, will not include Link Love. 😦 Link Love with be given out tomorrow, though, for Share the Love Saturday! 🙂 So this freestyle is dedicated to my usual randomness (as if you didn’t get enough from What? Wednesday and The Real March Madness ;-)).

I got new running shoes yesterday! I went in to Fleet Feet Sports Orlando and got properly fitted for shoes for the first time ever. Although it’s weird to have a man who is not Mr. P. touching my feet (o_o), after my measurements (and being told I have “meaty feet…again o_o), I hit the treadmill for gait analysis. The verdict: except for my left foot rolling in slightly (dumb left foot), my feet are perfect. My ankle stays straight, my inner foot stuff looks good (totally don’t remember what he said he, just that it was good), and I pronate perfectly–not over or under. All of that practicing Runner’s world form guide tips paid off! I wasn’t out of breath at all either. The best part–no foot pain! 😀

So, I’ve been at work all day dying to get to the park and test out the new shoes. I can’t wait to see what I can do with no foot pain, knee pain, hip pain, or breathing problems. It’s been a LONG afternoon, let me tell you. I have a playlist that includes a few new to the iPod songs (a reward for going to the gym during the first monsoon Monday), a new outfit (also from Monday), a gym lock (finally!), and new shoes and iWick technology socks.

I can’t really say whether or not running is my fit passion, but I’ve enjoyed it a lot more the past few weeks than I ever thought I would again, even if I was wearing running shoes a size too small (o_o) with the wrong stability battling foot pain and feeling like a fatty. 😉 I must say, though, the upright bike and yoga on Monday were REALLY good. I had DOMS Wednesday and Thursday, but it was fantastic! Maybe I should do spinning again? Yes? The awesome Yoga instructor is subbing for the Saturday instructor, so I can do it all again on Saturday morning. <<<Look at me, looking forward to exercise two days in a row! What, what!

I may go and see Black Swan at the discount theater. Yes, I know it’s on DVD, but 1) it will take forever to get on Netflix or from Redbox and 2) I’d like to see it in the movie theater. Also on the list of weekend movies: Married in a Year by Patti Stanger (research, you understand, for this here blog ;-)), Eat Pray Love, and Rom Coms from Netflix watch instantly. (Why no, Mr. P. isn’t going to be hanging with me this weekend. However did you guess?)

I’ve felt decidedly “un-meish” the past few weeks, what with all of the work and stress. I couldn’t be my sunny, optimistic self. Going jogging, getting to enjoy the sunshine and my kick butt playlists really helped. I was super bummed about the rain, but going to the gym was equally as good. Getting back to writing would just bliss me out completely.

I wanted to leave you with a quote from my 7 Habits of Highly Effective People calendar that addresses so-called independence. I talked about this a lot on this blog, from Independent Woman Syndrome to Real Independent Women, as well as guest blogs about Independent Attitude and The World’s “Real” vs. God’s Real. I think this sums it all up and states everyone’s opinions nicely:

Independent thinking alone is not suited to interdependent reality. Independent people who do not have the maturity to think and act interdependently may be good individual producers, but they won’t be good leaders or team players. They’re not coming from the paradigm of interdependence necessary to succeed in marriage, family, or organizational reality.

