Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Loch Ness monster sightings: 1) single hump, 2...

Yes, Lock Ness Monster sightings are related to this post...youre welcome. Image via Wikipedia

I recently started reading The Denzel Principle: Why Black Women Can’t Find Good Black Men. I realized early on that this was going to be a book from the male perspective that was sure to rub me the wrong way, even though most of what I’ve read so far doesn’t pertain to me in the least bit. Even so, I like to keep an open mind about things until I’ve gone through the entire thing, at which point in time I will close my mind door and take my position.

Even though I’m only through the introduction and most of the first chapter, a few of the author’s assertions have jumped out at me and I want to know what you think about them. Since this is a relationship book, I thought my ponderings of the ideas expressed were well placed here. So, I’ll provide the quotes and you respond with how you feel about it. OK? Good.

1) “…two-thirds of all black marriages end in divorce, creating whole neighborhoods of single-parent families, usually headed by single mothers. This statistic really reflects less on black men and more on black women and their inability to make good choices.”

2) “That said, the thing is I know brothers aren’t responsible for the high divorce rate because we aren’t that particular. Men are not complicated creatures and don’t ask for much. All we want is a woman to work, cook, clean, and maybe give up a little [sexual act] on our birthday. Sisters think they aren’t aking for the world by just looking for a man to meet their minimum standards. But their minimum is either the bare minimum or over the top.”

3) “But girl, she was so close! So as a tribe, they all just keep looking, telling themselves that accepting anything less than perfection would be “settling,” because they’ve been convinced that the perfect man exists. This goes on until this perfect black man becomes like Bigfoot or the Loch Ness Monster, with cults of nutjobs trading information, hunting tips, and fish stories about the one that got away, thier lives committed to hunting and capturing a creature who could not possibly exist.”

Thoughts?

