Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I went to the doctor today for aggravating hip pain. I still haven’t found a doctor in the area, so I went to Centra Care. I’m $75 lighter (:-(), but I have a diagnoses: swollen and inflamed lymph nodes in my groin (yeah…not excited about that). The bad news: sitting upright in a chair HURTS! This is not good for the next few days of work. I want to scream when I’ve been sitting for more than a few minutes, and the pain never eases. The doctor suggested warm compresses and ibuprofen for the pain. The good news: it’s not a running injury. I’m not a hopeless wanna be after all (at least on the injury front). In fact, running/walking are among the few ways to bend my hip that don’t hurt.

I bought new shoes on Friday as planned, and they are great. Avia something or others from Kohl’s. I paid $40 for them, and they are my new best friends. I went jogging in Jay Blanchard park, then went jogging on the Seminole Wekiva Trail, both with Mr. Perfect. No foot pain and quicker recovery time. We kept a conversational pace and chatted the whole way. I felt really good about it.

In fact, I felt so good about it, I convinced Mr. P to do a 5K with me on May 14th. It’s two weeks from Saturday right down the street from him. We get a free tech t-shirt. It will be my first timed race/run. I’m very excited! It’s for Operation Give Back, and will benefit wounded soldiers. Both Mr. P. and I have family members who have served in the military, which makes this not only a fun race for us in a familiar area for me, but one benefiting a cause we can both feel good about supporting. I’ve walked the heart of campus so much I still have it memorized, which goes a long way to easing my fears of surprise hills.

We won’t be able to train much in just two weeks, but I know we can complete the distance. The only thing now is to work on my endurance so I can run more of the distance and walk less. Oh, and also not to be too competitive and start out too fast and pull something or have an asthma attack. And to buy a cute outfit that matches my new shoes. But that’s it.

Seriously, this is going to be a nice “before” race for me, to see where I am at this the beginning of my return to running journey, a good way to gauge if I like this running thing. Best of all, no matter what I run, it’s still a PR. Hooray! I’m going to try my best anyway.

After this one, if I don’t die and still want to continue, there’s a 5K on or near the fourth of July. If nothing else, I’ll be able to make room for some BBQ!

What events are you planning on racing? What fitness goals are you working on in the upcoming weeks? Am I crazy for thinking of running a race in FL in July? What are some good beginner tips/things I can do to improve quickly and not die?

P.S. Reading some of these related article links, this swollen lymph nodes thing could be WAY worse. Praise God for sparing me some of those symptoms!