Tags

, , , ,

I’ve been doing a lot of thinking lately about…well, everything. This is going to be a period of transition for me, a time when decisions need to be made: where I will live, how to go about paying off one time debts and student loans, how I want to pursue goals. I want this year to be a great one for me in terms of achieving things I’ve “meant to” get around to for a while.

In “The Season for Getting Serious,” I wrote something that has really resonated with me the first week of 27:

It’s my belief that I succeed better when I don’t merely establish a goal, but a pattern, a habit. It makes achieving the goal effortless.

Lately, I’ve been reflecting on this, on how best to start forming some new habits in order to replace some old ones. In the intervening time between The Season for Getting Serious” and now, I’ve been doing a lot of quitting, but not a lot of beginning. What I decided to do, then was integrate both of these things into one streamlined concept: Stops & Starts.

It is important for me to start doing something in order to replace what I’ve stopped doing. Most of the things I’ve identified are an attitude shift, but I feel it’s important to have concrete corresponding actions to go with them.

If you have been reading my personal blog, you’ve heard about this already. Because a lot of the Stops/Starts are personal, I feel like my personal ones might be better suited for my personal blog. However, since the concept ties into my Season For Getting Serious posts as well as relationships, I will also share some of the concepts and takeaways here, as well as welcoming guest starts/stops for this blog.

So, for anyone wanting to guest post a start/stop, here are my rules for guest posting:

  • In order to write a stop, I have to have a corresponding start.
  • There has to be a plan of action, at least one thing to do.
  • The plan of action has to be measurable.
  • The stop/start has to explain what you’re stopping, why you’re stopping, and how your start will help you stop.
  • There has to be a follow up at some point to tell how things are going thus far.
  • You have to have your own pictures.
  • There are no length requirements.

If you’re interested in guest posting, email me at 2blu2btru4u@gmail.com.

I hope you’ll enjoy the stops/starts on my personal blog, Things I Should Keep to Myself, as well as tips and takeaways here.

XOXO

2blu2btru