Tags

, , , , , ,

Yesterday, I was having lunch with some coworkers and as we were talking about work and life, one of my coworkers turned to me and said “Oh, you’re a cheerleader.” I wasn’t expecting to hear that in the middle of the conversation. “You’re the one that goes, ‘you can do it,’ ‘hang in there,’ ‘everything’s going to work out,'” she said, with coordinating cheerleader-shaking-pompons hand motions. After thinking about it a bit, I have to admit I am a cheerleader.

In my relationships, I’m always the one who is exhorting someone to keep the faith, that things will work out if you do what you’re supposed to do. I haven’t always had what some would consider a strong faith (and I consider mustard seed faith). I’ve “been through a lot” in my short life that has caused me to believe that all things work together for good for them that love the Lord and are called according to His purpose.

I think that faith is what people are missing today; no one has any belief in things working themselves out. We are an “if you want something done right, you have to do it yourself” type of country. We don’t lean on each other, and we definitely don’t have faith. Love, when we can make time, but not faith. We don’t have time to encourage each other to continue on doing the right thing when it seems like we’d be better off doing the wrong things, at least in the short term.

Mr. Perfect is what he likes to call a “realist.” I assume that makes me an “unrealist.” I’m the optimistic, always looking on the bright side, always encouraging him not to give up cheerleader. I am the one who would tell him to stay with it, that people will recognize his value and compensate him appropriately. I’m the one who tells him that though things are harder now, doing the right thing will pay off in the long run. Even when he doesn’t believe me, I think it made/makes him feel better to know that I have faith–in God and in him.

Yesterday was Mr. Perfect’s job review, the first in almost two years. Mr. Perfect felt like he wouldn’t be compensated appropriately or see his bonus because they hadn’t told him anything and the bonus payout day was coming up. I wasn’t the least worried. Everyone could see how hard he was working and how valuable he was to the team; it would be rewarded. And it was. He got a good bonus and a good raise. They saw what I could see.

I’ve embraced my role as the spiritual cheerleader in this relationship. My life has specifically tailored me to it. I’m not the only cheerleader, however. When we go out on the trail to run, Mr. P. is the cheerleader, pushing me to go further than I want to go and praising me lavishly when I succeed. Everyone should take turns encouraging one another in some way in the relationship.

In what areas are you the cheerleader in your social and romantic relationships?