Tags

, ,

If you are reading this because you have decided to join the Naked Challenge, I’m so pleased and excited to have you on board! If you read the introduction, Let’s Get Naked, you know where the idea of this challenge came from, but you may be wondering exactly what this challenge entails and what you will need to get through it. I have compiled a list of materials and guidelines to help you get the most out of this challenge.

(This is a 30 day challenge and will begin tomorrow, July 1st. However, if you find this after that date and want to participate, feel free to join us.)

First, you don’t have to post any of your challenges online. I would like to see what you are coming up with, but if getting naked in front of a bunch of strangers (metaphorically speaking) stunts your ability to be truly vulnerable and naked in the exercise, you don’t have to post it. If you aren’t comfortable posting, and perhaps if you only want to post some of your reflections, you will need a journal to write in.

Second, there is one part of this challenge that MUST be done EVERY DAY. It is the centerpiece of the challenge. Every day, you must stand in the mirror naked and identify one thing that you like about yourself. Each thing must be unique (you cannot say the same thing twice). At least 2/3 of these things (or twenty) must be physical attributes. This would be most effective in a full length mirror. Note: DO NOT post any Naked pictures of yourself online in association with this challenge.

Thirdly, two other things that I would like you to do daily are to pick an empowering song for the day, and to name one thing you are grateful for.  Music is something I really connect with, but if you love painting and want to find an inspirational painting a day, that’s fine, too. Pick something that speaks to you. One of the most important parts of this challenge for me is to shift focus from the negative to the positive. One way to do this is to state one thing you are grateful for. You don’t have to elaborate if you don’t want to; a simple sentence will do. This can be the same thing each day, but I would prefer that you dig deeper and find something new each day.

Fourthly, I would like for anyone participating to link to the exercise post for that day so I can see what the exercises are bringing forth (if you feel like sharing). If you don’t want to share publicly, feel free to email me at 2blu2btru4u@gmail.com with questions, guidance, revelations, etc.

Note: I am not a psychologist, psychiatrist, relationship coach, minister, or resident know it all. If any of the challenges bring up any feelings best handled by a mental health professional, spiritual counselor, or medical professional, please seek a qualified person in these fields. I do have access to ministers and mental health counselors who I can refer general questions to, but having someone you can speak with personally is essential (and someone who is not a friend rowing in the same boat that you are).

Lastly, I will be doing the exercises as well. There will be a link on Naked and Not Ashamed page to my posts on my personal blog.

I hope you all get something wonderful out of this challenge and share it with a friend!

XOXO

2blu2btru