Tags

, , , ,

I know many of you read the children’s story, If You Give a Mouse a Cookie. The point is that if you give someone something, they just want something more. The mouse then wants milk, and on and on. Well, I’m having that feeling right now.

I have been staying away from a certain chapter in my book because I didn’t know how I wanted to tackle it. This is, of course, the submission chapter. There’s so much I wanted to say and so much I didn’t know how to say. So I went to the place I always go when I have a Biblical question (well, one of the places), to my minister. I know he has all kinds of books on everything Biblical, so I asked what resources he had at hand for me on submission. After going through a few references books with no luck. He took me through a scavenger hunt like process to find submission in the Theological Dictionary of the New Testament.

I’ve been giving it a general looking over for the past 1 to 1 1/2, and let me just say–this submission thing is a lot deeper than many people realize. I knew that going into the reading, but I didn’t know just how different it was than what I usually hear on the subject. For instance, there are two different types of submission, not to mention that there are quite a few different words that have been translated this way. Another interesting thing I learned is that not all forms of the word carry with them the sentiment of obedience or to obey.

I am so excited about this chapter now in a way I wasn’t before. I think that I can get a good handle on the subject now and convey that without messing it up and getting it all wrong. I think that Bro. Drummer asked just the right question: Are you discussing submission from a theological standpoint or specific to marriage? By starting with the theological concept and narrowing down to a specific branch, I can convey exactly what I think we need to recognize about the role of submission in our lives.

I need more books. I am exhausting the limited of every study bible and study aid that I have. If I’m really going to take this to the next level, I’m going to have to bring in other books that build off of the strong scriptural basis and practical application in my own life that I have been drawing on thus far.

If you have any great resources that you think I should check out, please give this mouse some milk to go with her cookie.

XOXO

2blu2btru