Tags

, , , , , ,

As much as I love doing these wrapping up the month posts, it is difficult for me to pick one word to describe how the month went. It was difficult last month and it’s difficult this month. There have been a lot of ups and downs, a lot of things that have fallen apart only to fall into place when the right thing came along. There has been some progress in some areas and some grace in others. If I was able to pick two words to describe this month, they would be “divine providence” or “God’s timing,” but since I can’t the word of the month for February is

DEVELOPMENT

I bet you didn’t see that one coming. It doesn’t really have anything to do with God’s timing or divine providence on the surface. But remember that God makes all things beautiful in its time. While some things turned out beautiful this month, some are still downright ugly and in the development stages. God is still working some of those ugly parts together for good for me. This is what I’m telling myself about these ugly things that I would much rather get rid of than work on like I’m supposed to be doing. Anyway.

This past week has been really rough professionally. I haven’t said that in a while. Not to toot my own horn, but I’m good at my job. I rarely have any issues with the people I work with or the work I do, but twice in the span of this week I’ve been called to the carpet on some work related stuff. Only one of those conversations held any actual instructions for progress for me specifically; I’m groping around in the dark on the other one. The thing is, though, I’ve been meaning to address BOTH of these areas; I just wasn’t aware that other people were seeing the work in progress that it was. I thought I LOOKED like I had it all together, but apparently, I do not.

In the past month I also had a mini-meltdown in a dealership over a car that I was just about to ride off into the sunset with, even though I knew the car wasn’t quite right. Everything that could have went wrong with the purchase of that car did go wrong, and I had to leave without it after spending all day there, literally [Sidenote: Why is it that the more time we put into acquiring something the more we seem to want it? I was only marginally interested in the car at first, but after having wasted an entire Saturday on trying to get it, in my mind it went from a decent vehicle to the vehicle I had to have. I wonder if this is what happens to people in relationships for years and years? Hmm…anyway]. I was so disappointed, but I knew that if I didn’t find anything better, I could always go back and get the car later.

Those were the two major bad things that happened this month. Now on to the good developments:

On Valentine’s Day, I bought the domain for what will be my new website. Right now, it’s a blog, but I’m working on it. If you haven’t already been over to Season for Getting Serious, go check it out. The next step is to buy my own web hosting and set Mr. Perfect, aka Tech Support, onto sprucing it up a bit. Then I’ll be shopping around for a logo, a professional headshot, etc. Yay for progress that has been a couple years in the making!

I signed up for a 5K in April. This is huge for me, as I am not able to run very far for very long, and I’ve been wanting to do something about my body for a while. I restarted the Couch to 5K program, and I am ready to start implementing all of the things I learned when I visited with the nutritionist one on one through a job program. I still haven’t bought that scale, but I’m going to; I promise.ūüôā

On February 22, I got my new car. It is one model year and 13K miles newer than the car I¬†had the meltdown over, and the¬†interest rate is nearly half of the other car’s rate. My payments will be $150 dollars a month cheaper, and I have a way better radio in the car. Because I had to wait on the other car, I ended up¬†finding a much better deal.¬†God’s timing is better than mine. I¬†had this car the same day, no hassle, within¬†an hour of sitting down.¬†I love this car.

Because of having to put down the majority of the money I received from my collision claim, I wasn’t able to get the laptop and webhosting like I wanted to in February, but I was able to keep¬†enough back to pay¬†nearly all of my bills for¬†March, buy an iPod, get a¬†kick butt DVD shelving unit, buy a couple blu-ray movies, and eat with money to spare until¬†the next payday. I also cashed in the points on my debit card, with which I bought a $25 amazon gift card, a¬†$25 iTunes gift card, and a $10 Dunkin’ Donuts giftcard. I also got a $15 Dunkin’ Donuts gift card for my birthday from my boss. Aside from the work struggles, the end of¬†February rocked.

I have done a lot of work on getting my apartment together, making it look more like I have a home and not a college apartment. I still have a long way to go, but at least I now own a vaccuum and have some nice little decorating touches.

Lastly, I made some major strides on the book. I wrote some great additions to the Meet Mates chapter, brainstormed good topics for the Making Yourself Meet chapter, proofread and rearranged for better cohesion, and started culling the interviews for quotes. I think (note: think) I have outlined all of the areas I have left to work on. If I put in a little elbow grease, I can have a solid, finished (better than) 1st draft done at the end of March. The next step will be to decide if I’m going to look for an agent¬†or self-publish. I’m still evaluating the pros and cons.

What is your word for the month for February? How did you do on your goals? What do you want to accomplish in March?