Tags

, , , , , ,

I have finally begun the process of getting everything ready to move over to a self-hosted site. Let me tell you, it’s a lot more work than I imagined it would be!

The first order of business was to buy the self-hosting. After some research, I decided to go with a site recommended by WordPress, Blue Host. After going through each and every feature with Mr. Perfect aka Tech Support, I was confident in my choice to go with them. They had all of the features I wanted to be able to develop for my site, and they gave me a dedicated web consultant to answer any questions that I have; how awesome is that?

The second thing was a little bit tougher. I had to figure out how to transfer my domain. Apparently, that will be happening on the 21st. It’s a good thing that I can read, because it took a lot of reading to find the right thread to accomplish this feat (especially after a tense exchange with Tech Support that led to me having to figure it out myself. Oops). Once I had did one thing, waited, read, did another thing, then waited some more, I got the confirmation emails and was able to move forward (I’m not recounting specific steps because I don’t remember them and wouldn’t want to lead anyone astray. You know what they say about the blind leading the blind.

Now I am on the most difficult step of the process by far, combining blogs and exporting the conglomerate so I can import it to the new site. I am going to accomplish this before the domain is transferred, so that I only have to transfer one thing. So far, the contents of this blog and What I Wanted to Say have been moved over to The Season for Getting Serious. I am moving over Copywrite1985 and 2blu2btru’s Reviews today. Once they are all added to the blog, I will export it to my laptop and upload it to the new hosting site during the construction of the website.

I think The Season for Getting Serious may be down for a couple of days after the domain transfer while I am putting the site together, but I’m hoping the down time will be minimal. Since the 21st is a Sunday, I probably won’t be able to check on things until late. Not only do I have church but I am hobbling running a 5K that morning. I will check on things after services if I can and leave an update here. Hopefully the new banner will be completed (which looks awesome, by the way) and I will be able to add it to the home page before the site goes live.

Another thing: I will be going through ALL of the blog posts to proofread, re-categorize, and delete from the website as necessary. All of the blogs will remain active on WordPress, but I will take out blogs that are boring ones about day to day occurrences and silliness from the site. But feel free to continue to enjoy the mundane frivolities of my life on these blogs. Yay!

This promises to be a busy weekend for me. I have an event tomorrow, a 5k race and church on Sunday and I need to put together the PowerPoint presentation for my seminar presentation. I am wanting to finish a couple chapters of the book that are nearing completion, but it probably won’t be anytime soon with getting the site up and running and preparing for the presentation. I was hoping to have the book ready for the seminar presentation to sell books and piggy back off of it, but it doesn’t look like that will happen. Oh, well.

Do you have your own website? What was the process of getting it up and running like? What hiccups did you have? Anyone else use Blue Host? Anything new and/or exciting going on in your lives?