Tags

, , , , ,

I think I need to write a sternly worded letter to myself. I have been on a mission this year to make sure I was doing…no more waiting around for this girl. I have been doing a lot of things I’ve been meaning to do and really coming into my own, but there are still a few more frontiers that need to be worked on. One of those is the financial sphere of my life.

I gave up on ever getting things paid off and getting ahead financially as a single person. My mantra has become “I will never be able to pay off my student loans as a single person.” In all honestly, I haven’t been able to pay ON my student loans in a while, let alone pay the OFF, but this negative thinking and surrendered attitude aren’t going to get me any closer to that goal.

I started a campaign at work to make a case for more money come review time. I know I can’t afford to be in a position where I only get the standard two percent, not if I’m going to make any strides financially. I’ve recently taken on new responsibilities. I am also angling for a new title that fully encompasses what I do. I think that once I have a new job title/description where people can more clearly see just how much more I do this year than last year, it will be easier to build a case for more money. But this little plan of mine will take some time before I see any fruit.

What I can change right now is my attitude and my spending. I am going to have to cut down my cost of living somehow if I’m going to get ahead. I checked into other options for my cable and internet, but the plan I have now is cheaper than the other comparable plans. I have lowered both my car insurance and car payment this year already. I just need to find a few more areas where I can cut back and stay away from cash advances in order to see light at the end of the tunnel.

I can’t depend on a man, a roommate, or moving home to help me get on top of MY debt. This surrendered attitude doesn’t serve me, and it shows I’m putting my trust and hopes for security in the wrong place. I can’t depend on people or my job to ensure my needs are provided for; I can’t even depend on myself. I haven’t completely given this area over to God. It took me a long time to realize that while I’ve made great strides in this area, I still hadn’t let go completely.

What are you having trouble letting go of/changing your attitude about?

XOXO,

Erica