Tags

, , , , ,

I have a bad habit of getting off task often. It doesn’t happen at the beginning of a thing. I love beginning things. My enthusiasm usually powers me through the first few times. Nor does it happen towards the end. When I have the goal in sight, I push even hard to clinch it. No, it happens somewhere in the middle, where you look down the road to where your going, and the goal seems to get farther away, and it seems impossible to get back to where you were. That’s where I end up camping out. I try to tell myself that I should be happy with the progress that I’ve made, that at least I’m not where I used to be, but I can’t placate myself with that sentiment for too long.

Lately, I’ve been trying to figure out how to strike a balance between celebrating the small victories and continuing to move forward. I want to acknowledge the things I have accomplished without sitting down and not being able to get back up and get moving. I have a real problem with resting on my laurels. I need to make achieving goals the habit, and not the rare thing to be celebrated.

I’ve been thinking a lot about what I want to be like in the not too distant future. I’ve made a lot of positive changes in my life which have helped me to achieve a bit of balance in some areas. For example, I stuck to writing every day for nearly a month to get a real first draft of the book in sight. I celebrated when I finished a section, but the next day, I was back at it trying to finish another chapter. I was buoyed from finishing a chapter so that I could finish another. But with my personal goals, my victories can’t be a springboard for further victories.

I’ll give you an example of what I mean. If you’ve been reading for a while, you know about my various fitness goals. If I didn’t lose weight after weeks in the gym working out, I quit going. Even more alarming, when I set the goal to walk every day for 21 days so that it would become a habit, I stopped after 28 days. I thought I had created a habit, but something in my brain felt like the achievement of that goal was the endpoint, not a springboard. I find myself having a hard time making a habit of something I really don’t want to do, but I haven’t found something I really want to do fitness-wise.

I think I need a new definition of what balance looks like for certain goals. Do you have different definitions of balance and achievement for different goals? What helps you stick to something? Am I thinking about this all wrong?

XOXO,

Erica