Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I’ve spent most of this year in and out of my writing cave, much to the chagrin of Mr. Perfect and my to-do list, as well as you lovely blog readers. I made last year a year to focus on my relationship, and I wanted to do something different this year, something that focused on finally being able to cross something off of my list of life goals. I tried to go back to school and begin working on acquiring my paralegal certification, but that didn’t work. My relationship is doing well, but nothing major to cross off the life list there yet. After a few months of half-hearted commitment in a few other areas–exercise, healthy eating, staying on top of my list of chores, etc.–I finally sat down and committed myself to really pursuing writing. I am so close to being done with my relationship book it isn’t even funny, and I am nearly 43k into a romantic suspense novel (My NaNoWriMo project). I restarted a story and got really far on it while participating in So You Think You Can Write. I have really been rocking the writing goals, to a chorus of “When do you sleep?” and other admonishments. I’m not firmly in the “They sleep. We grind” camp, but I am willing to sacrifice some shut eye for a dream I’ve had my entire life.

It has taken me a long time to really get serious about this writing thing, and I can’t wait to get my first regular submission sent in. I know that there is still a long road ahead of me after that, but I’m trying to reward myself for every milestone I reach. To that end, I bought a book when I surpassed my greatest word count on a fiction project to date. Today, I’m going to look around and find another gift for being in the final stretch of NaNoWriMo with a manuscript I like. As soon as I have a little extra money, I will replace my Kindle and finally, FINALLY officially engage my wonderful graphic artist to come up with a cover for my relationship book. Once I have a cover in place, I’ll reveal the cover and title, and then it will be time to publish! I am working on some other things that I want to bring to you all in the new year, so keep watching this spot (I promise I won’t be as silent as I have been).

If I get nothing else out of this year, it’s that the circumstances won’t ever be perfect and the timing won’t ever be convenient. At a certain point, you just have to go after what you feel led to accomplish. You’ll know you’re on the right track when doors start to open and things begin to fall into place.

That’s my two cents, anyway. Feel free to leave yours in the comment section.

XOXO

Erica