Tags

, , , , ,

*I was supposed to post this a long time ago; I’ve known what the word for the year is since New Years, if not before. It wasn’t uncertainty over what the word should be that kept me from posting, but the momentous, life changing nature of the word, and the sentiments behind it, paralyzed me for a bit. I know only God can make my pursuit of this for this year a success; that’s part of the reason I know this is the right word*

I’m not going to give a bunch of fanfare before I dive into the word of the year for 2014; I’m just going to put it out there. My word of the year is submit. There, I said it. That wasn’t so bad.

I didn’t want to say it…er, write it. I was hesitant to commit the word to paper…or the internet, because it means so many different things as it pertains to this year. No other word fully represented and encompassed what this year needs to be about for me.I didn’t want to be controversial at all in my choice, although I realize to some it will appear as if I am. I simply wanted to be truthful to where I am and where I want to go in this year.

Some definitions:

  • to give (a document, proposal, piece of writing, etc.) to someone so that it can be considered or approved.
  • to stop trying to fight or resist something; to agree to do something that you have been resisting or opposing.
  • to yield oneself to the authority or will of another; surrender
  • to defer to or consent to abide by the opinion or authority of another.

There are so many areas of my life in which the word submit needs to become entrenched! The most obvious area, and the easiest to do, would be in the area of achieving my goal to be a published writer. I have to press the submit button several times this year to get my writing in front of someone who might believe in it enough to publish it. I’ve even made some positive steps to prepare a couple things for submission. But the physical and spiritual implications are so much greater.

One area in my life in which I want to embrace the meaning or submit that pertains to surrender is in my relationship. My relationship needs to be submitting to God. Absolutely. Not only that, though, but I need to surrender the death grip that I’ve had on moving things along. I’ve already done a few things to move in this direction, but more things are required. *Y’all, I really don’t want to say this, but I’m going to, and please hold me to it* I need to stop trying to evaluate and predicate things upon an uncertain future outcome & instead consult God on how he wants me to proceed. No more trying to orchestrate things, either. To that end, no more hinting, nagging, lamenting, arm twisting, or complaining about my relationship to anyone but God.

I’ve been fasting from relationship related media–no Say Yes to the Dress or Four Weddings, no ratchet TV like Love & Hip Hop with their jacked up relationships, no hash tag or tag check for engagement, wedding, marriage or related terms on blogs or Instagram. I DID see that my cousin was engaged on Facebook and I liked the status, but other than that–nothing. I’m cutting off those avenues of comparison. What happens with my relationship will happen when it is supposed to happen. Easier said than done, but I’m working on it.

This doesn’t begin to touch on how submit can be applied to my relationship with God, bringing my body into submission, bringing my mouth into submission, or the other areas I’ve already identified that will benefit from this word. I’ll share more about Project Submit as the month wears on.

What’s your word for the year? How are you going to use it to impact your life? Have you made any steps toward achieving your 2014 goals?

XOXO

Erica