Tags

, , , , , , ,

The last few days I’ve been particularly quiet. I’ve spent a lot more time studying submission and scriptures related to being a woman, trying to ferret out the particular strengths and weaknesses inherent in being a woman in order to be a better one. I’ve been more in the mindset of “soaking it in” than putting in my two cents, and I feel like God is speaking to me through scripture on some things I felt he was silent on before.

Yesterday we studied the last psalm in the book of Psalms and talked about what the overall message of the book of Psalms was. The commentary at the beginning of the book of Psalms in my Bible says the unifying characteristic of all the psalms is “that the writers have a serene confidence in God’s guidance and provision.” This statement stuck with me all night. As I considered the psalms, no matter what the psalmist was asking for–deliverance, vengeance, forgiveness, mercy, blessings, curses on enemies–what he was praising God for or inviting other to praise God for, he always showed a supreme confidence in that God was at work and in control, that God could do what He wanted in any situation despite who opposed Him.

There are so many relationships in which we cannot trust. People leave, walk away, neglect responsibilities, pop in and out of our lives at their own whims. People will make us gods and place expectations on us that we could never live up to. People disappoint us and break our hearts. People’s hands are tied and they couldn’t help us if they wanted to. Sometimes people just don’t know how to deal with us, nor we with them. But it’s comforting to know that God can be trusted. We can tell Him anything we want. We can trust His loyalty to us when we are loyal to Him. Not only can He provide a listening ear, He can actually DO something in EVERY situation. Beyond that, God knows us and cares for us. He didn’t miss a few episodes of our lives.

During the past few weeks, I’ve been able to see God work when I’ve taken my hand and mouth off of things. I’m learning in silence. I’m learning to pull away and spend time with God. I’m learning to recognize his voice in the see of all the other voices that seek residence in my thoughts. I know I’ve already written about this, but at that point I was still struggling with the silence. I wanted to write about this place, the sweet spot where quiet certainty and trust replaces the frantic first days of silence.

Be blessed everyone,

Erica

P.S. A sister in Christ at my church lost her job this week. Please pray that she finds a new one soon, and that this time serves to strengthen her faith, increase her wisdom, and grow her character rather than increasing her anxiety and distractions in her life.