Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

A Serious Season bestI have more fingernail/toenail clippers and tweezers than any one person should ever have. There’s a perfectly good explanation for this. Every time I would misplace a pair, I would look for them everywhere. I searched every plausible place for them and couldn’t find them. When I got tired of looking for them, I would buy another pair. This happened over and over again. It was like an epidemic with me.

While doing some much needed spring cleaning, I’ve come across many things I thought were gone for good, like all these pairs of clippers and tweezers. Isn’t it amazing how that happens? Sometimes when you stop looking for something, you find it. Yet finding all of those lost things convicted me.

In Luke chapter 15, Christ shares three parables about lost things. He tells us how they became lost, how people reacted to their being lost, how people found them, and how they reacted to finding them. Jesus spoke these parables when the scribes and Pharisees criticized him for receiving sinners, so it can be concluded that the lost He is illustrating here are lost sinners.

Brother Drummer did a wonderful set of lessons on these parables showing the uniqueness of each parable’s message as well as their similarities. The main things that stand out in my reading of the scripture are that none of these things know that they are lost; someone is looking diligently for them, and; when they are found, people are called together to rejoice over finding them.

In contrast, I had stopped looking for my clippers long ago and replaced them. I was pleasantly surprised when I came across them again, but I didn’t rejoice and I certainly didn’t call anyone to rejoice with me. This would be fine if it only pertained to clippers and such, but it doesn’t. As I gathered all of them into a pile, I thought about all of the lost people that I pass every day and never try to bring to Christ. I thought about all the people I’ve stopped seeing at church who I never went looking for. I thought about how little enthusiasm I am wont to show when people have been away and return.

It seems that I have an attitude problem. Even more troubling, I have a focus problem. Sometimes I get so focused on me, myself and I, what I’m going through, what I need to do, that I forget that seeking and saving the lost is important. More importantly, I forget that I’m not looking for something that can be replaced; I’m looking for people, individuals that are important enough to God that he sent me to look for them.

Perhaps reading this you realize that you’re like me. Maybe you haven’t been as enthusiastic about finding the lost as you could be. Perhaps there are some people you stopped seeing at church that you haven’t reached out to. Maybe you have a group that you keep up with and pray for but you’ve stopped looking for others to bring to salvation. If this convicts you in any way, go to the Father. Repent. Start changing your attitude toward seeking and saving the lost.

The truth is, those clippers and tweezers were never going to cry out to me to let me know where they were. They didn’t know that they were lost, and I didn’t care enough to continue looking beyond what was convenient for me. When I’ve lost something of greater importance, I refused to stop looking until I found it. It’s time to bring that attitude to the areas that God says are important. That’s my conviction, anyway.

XOXO,

Erica

This is part of an ongoing series of post pertaining to getting serious about who we are in Christ. You can go to www.aseriousseason.com to learn more about my pledge to make this time in my life The Season for Getting Serious. The graphic was created for me by Jada Prather.